Alban Bagbin Wins Election As Speaker of 8th Parliament

BY: Akpabli Daniel Yao/IGnews

A member of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) and former Member of Parliament for Nadowli Kaleo , Alban Kingsford Sumana Bagbin has been elected as the Speaker of the 8th Parliament. 

Mr. Bagbin,  is currently the longest serving member of parliament, having served since 1993 when the first parliament under the 4th Republic was inaugurated.

He was the Second Deputy Speaker in the previous Parliament (7th parliament) and won the elections against his only contender, Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye.

Before Mr. Bagbin’s election as Speaker,  he held a number of positions in Parliament since 1994 including Chairman of the Parliamentary Committee on Subsidiary Legislation and Vice Chairman of the Parliamentary Committee on Mines and Energy and Member of the Committee on Local Government and Rural Development (In the first Parliament of the Fourth Republic), Chairman of the Parliamentary Committee on Constitutional, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs with oversight responsibilities for the Commission of Human Rights and Administrative Justice, Electoral Commission, National Commission on Civic Education, Office of Parliament and Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs (In the Second Parliament of the Fourth Republic), Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee (2001 to 2005).

He also served as the Vice-Chairman of the Appointments Committee of Parliament and with the ultimate, the Majority Leader and Leader of the House.

Mr. Bagbin is expected to see to the activities of parliament for the next four years.

Source: IGnews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *